About the Belgian Heritage Center

About Us The Belgian Heritage Center tells the story of the Belgian settlement in Wisconsin and works to preserve unique elements of Belgian culture such as foods, beverages, customs, architecture and the Walloon language.

The center is located in the former St. Mary of the Snows church which was a cornerstone of the historic Belgian settlement. The building is located in the Namur Historic District that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and has been designated a National Landmark by the US Department of Interior.
Objectives of the Belgian Heritage Center
Document the history of Belgian settlements in Wisconsin
Preserve and celebrate Belgian culture including food, beverages, architecture, language and customs
Sponsor events and festivals that celebrate and honor the Belgian tradition
Provide facilities for hosting special events, weddings, reunions, picnics, etc.
Facilitate genealogical and historic research
Provide facilities for educational programs
Offer narrated tours of the Belgian settlements
Collaborate with other organizations interested in historic and cultural preservation
Exhibits and documentary will feature:
Stories of the Belgian immigration and settlement of the frontier
Belgian architecture and unique buildings such as roadside chapels
Local economic development
Persistence of local Belgian ethnicity over time
The Great Fire (Peshtigo fire)
Women’s unique role in family
Belgian connections to Shrine of Our Lady of Good Help in Champion and the founding of the Norbertine Order in America

About the Namur Belgian Heritage Foundation, Inc.

Board of Directors
Joe Alexander, Co_President
Monica Thiry, Co-President
Kevin Moore, Vice President
Ann Jinkins, Secretary
Sandy Orsted, Treasurer
Barb Chisholm, Historian
Allen Alexander
Bill Chaudoir
Christine Chaudoir
Brian Delwiche
Barb Maskell
Tim Moore
Bill Laatsch, Historian Emeritus
In 2010, a small group of interested local residents, many of them descendants of early Belgian settlers, began to explore the feasibility of restoring the former St. Mary of the Snows Catholic Church in Namur and to repurpose it for a new use that would celebrate the Belgian heritage of northeast Wisconsin. The former St. Mary’s church was purchased from the Catholic Diocese in August 2010.

The Namur Belgian Heritage Foundation was organized and granted 501(c)(3) status by the Internal Revenue Service. The Foundation owns and operates the Belgian Heritage Center.

Contact Information

Belgian Heritage Center
1255 County DK/PO Box 173
Brussels, Wisconsin 54204
920-825-1199 or 920-825-1328

Hours of Operation

The Belgian Heritage Center is open Friday, Saturday and Sunday from May through October. We are also open throughout the year by appointment - please contact us at least one week in advance of your visit.